Official website of Nendaz Tourism
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Heritage

Bisse de Saxon

/ /
Heritage

Bisse de Saxon

The longest bisse of the Valais with its 32 kilometre long path
 
Water intake altitude 1,850 m, in the River Printse above Siviez
Length 32 km
Date of construction 1876
 
This bisse begins its route by crossing the mountain meadows of Tortin and of Siviez, then cuts across the spruce forest as far as the heights of Haute-Nendaz. It continues its way towards the mountain meadow of Pra da Dzeu and rejoins the several centuries-old larches of the Mayens du Dzora. While crossing the Forêt Verte, it winds its way as far as La Tzoumaz. After having leapt over the 'dévaloirs' overhanging Ecône, it finishes its course vertical to Saxon.
 
The inhabitants of this village of the Rhône valley must really have lacked water for their crops in order to undertake such an audacious project. The works began in 1865. Unfortunately, for technical reasons, the project had to be interrupted and was followed by a court case which lasted about ten years. Finally, the works continued in 1874 under the direction of Joseph Fama, owner of the casino and baths of Saxon.
 
Numerous structures had to be built all along the course ; dry-stone walls, tunnels for the passages in the rocks, passage of the water in wooden channels...
 
In 1876, the first water-filling took place and the bisse assumed its function until 1964. To ensure the surveillance of the canal, three guards were necessary over the length of its course. These men lived in cabins constructed along the bisse. In 1999, an association called "Garde du Bisse" was created with the aim of reviving this canal which holds an important position in the history of the Valais.
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
OPENING HOURS 
Mon - Sat| 09:00-12:00 13:30-18:00
Sun | 09:00-14:00

Offizielle Webseite von Nendaz Tourismus
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Erbe

Bisse de Saxon

/ /
Erbe

Bisse de Saxon

Die längste Suone des Wallis erstreckt sich über 32 km.

 

Fassung auf 1850 m Höhe aus dem Fluss Printse oberhalb von Siviez

Länge 32 km

Baujahr 1876

 

Die Bisse de Saxon durchquert zu Beginn die Alpen von Tortin und Siviez, führt dann durch einen Fichtenwald bis hin zu den Alpen oberhalb von Haute-Nendaz. Von dort fliesst sie weiter zur Alp Pra da Dzeu, vorbei an den hundertjährigen Lärchen bei den Maiensässen du Dzora. Nach dem Forêt Verte fliesst sie gemütlich bis La Tzoumaz dahin. Bevor die Suone bei Saxon dann das Tal erreicht, müssen noch die steilen Felswände bei Ecône überwunden werden.

 

Es lässt sich nur erahnen, unter welch grossem Wassermangel die Bewohner dieses Dorfes im Rhonetal litten, dass sie ein solch kühnes Projekt in Angriff nahmen. Die Bauarbeiten begannen 1865. Technische Probleme führten aber dazu, dass die Arbeiten unterbrochen werden mussten und ein jahrzehntelanger Prozess das Ganze stilllegte. Unter der Federführung von Joseph Fama, Eigentümer und Direktor des Casinos und der Bäder von Saxon, nahm man die Arbeiten 1874 schliesslich wieder auf.

 

Entlang der Strecke mussten zahlreiche Bauten konstruiert werden, wie Trockensteinmauern, Tunnels durch Felsabschnitte, Montage von Känneln, durch die das Wasser hindurch floss.

 

1876 führte die Suone erstmals Wasser und wurde bis 1964 zur Bewässerung genutzt. Aufgrund ihrer Länge wurden 3 Hüter benötigt, welche die Suone kontrollierten und bei Bedarf ausbesserten. Diese Hüter oder Sander lebten in schlichten Hütten entlang der Suone. 1999 wurde der Verein «Garde du Bisse» gegründet, der diesen für die Geschichte des Wallis so wichtigen Kanal wieder instand setzte.

 

Bisse de Saxon-42122
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Öffnungszeiten:
Mo-Fr | 09:00-12:30 14:00-18:00
Sa | 09:00-12:30 13:30-17:30
So | 09:00-14:00