Official website of Nendaz Tourism
The Alphorn-42230
Heritage

The Alphorn

/ /
Heritage

The Alphorn

The birth

The alphorn's origins have been lost in the depths of time.  Some ancient documents mention that European and even Asian shepherds used a similar instrument, that is to say a sort of primitive wooden trumpet, which could play only a few notes.
 
1555

In Switzerland, we find proof of its existence in manuscripts written by the naturalist from Zurich, Conrad Gessner, who describes a sort of horn "litum alpinum" eleven feet long, made up of two long pieces of wood, curved, hollowed and bound together with wicker. This instrument was used in central Switzerland, to gather the cattle. In fact, originally, it was used to call the herds together, in the evening, in the mountains. It was also used as a method of communication to spread news from one valley to the next. In some ways, it would have been the ancestor to the megaphone. In the mountains, and with the wind as its ally, its notes can carry over 10km.
 
1805

The first alphorn competition took place at the shepherds' fete in Unspunnen: only two competitors took part. The first medal won at this occasion depicts the alphorn's shape at that time.
 
1826

Little by little, the playing of this instrument spread and in 1826 Niklaus von Mülinen, a Bernese patrician and president of the cantonal government, asked the composer Ferdinand Fürchtegott to make some alphorns and to organise the teaching of this instrument at Grindelwald.  According to the lithographs of the time, the alphorns were fairly straight and very narrow.
 
1880

It is only around 1880 that the alphorn was given its present shape. In the Zeihen museum (canton of Aargau) an example of this period is exhibited.
 
Over the years, the alphorn has had mixed amounts of popularity. At the turn of the century, it had even almost disappeared: when the federal association of yodellers was created (8th of May 1910), only one alphorn was present.
 
Today

In Switzerland, there are about 4'000 players, 200 in the Valais of which over 14 are from Nendaz.
 
 
The Alphorn-42230
The Alphorn-42230
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Opening hours :
Mon-Fri | 09:00-12:00 14:00-18:00
Sat | 09:00-12:30 13:30-17:30
Sun | closed

Offizielle Webseite von Nendaz Tourismus
Das Alphorn-42230
Erbe

Das Alphorn

/ /
Erbe

Das Alphorn

Entstehung

Die Herkunft des Alphorns verliert sich in der Dunkelheit der Zeit. Verschiedene, sehr alte Chroniken erwähnen europäische und sogar asiatische Schäfer, welche ein ähnliches Instrument verwendeten. Genauer gesagt eine Art primitive Trompete aus Holz, welche nur wenige Töne hervorrief.
 
1555

In der Schweiz findet man seine Spuren in den Schriften des Zürcher Naturforschers Conrad Gessner, der eine Art Horn beschreibt, das “litum alpinum”, elf Fuss lang, geformt aus zwei langen Stücken aus Holz, die gebogen und ausgehöhlt und gegeneinander mit Weidenruten zusammengefügt sind. Dieses Instrument wurde in der Zentralschweiz, in der Gegend des Pilatus, gebraucht, um das Vieh zusammenzutreiben. Es diente auch als Verständigungsmittel, um die Neuigkeiten von einem Tal zum anderen bekannt zu geben. In den Bergen, mit dem Wind als Verbündeten, kann sein Klang bis zu 10 km weit getragen werden.
 
1805

Am Unspunnenfest der Schäfer fand der erste Wettbewerb im Alphornspiel statt, wobei sich lediglich zwei Konkurrenten gegenüberstanden. Aufgrund der ersten Medaille, die an diesem Anlass gewonnen wurde, weiss man, wie das Alphorn zu jener Zeit ausgesehen hat.
 
1826

Nach und nach verbreitet sich das Alphorn. 1826 beauftragt Niklaus von Mülinen, Patrizier und Landammann von Bern, den Komponisten Ferdinand Fürchtegott mit der Herstellung von Alphörnern und mit dem Unterricht im Alphornspiel in Grindelwald. Gemäss den Lithografien aus jener Zeit, waren die Alphörner mehrheitlich für Rechtshänder und sehr schmal.

1880

Um 1880 erhielt das Alphorn die heutige Form. Das Museum von Zeihen im Kanton Aargau stellt ein Exemplar aus jener Zeit aus. Im Laufe der Jahre erlebte das Alphorn wechselhafte Begeisterung.
 
Um die Jahrhundertwende verschwand es beinahe. Als der Eidgenössische Jodlerverband gegründet wurde (8. Mai 1910), war gerade ein einziger Alphornbläser anwesend.

Heute

In der Schweiz zählt man ungefähr 4‘000 Instrumentalisten, 200 im Wallis wovon ca. 14 in Nendaz.
 
 
Das Alphorn-42230
Das Alphorn-42230
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Öffnungszeiten:
Mo-Fr | 09:00-12:00 14:00-18:00
Sa | 09:00-12:30 13:30-17:30
So | geschlossen