Official website of Nendaz Tourism
Bisse de Chervé-42117
Heritage

Bisse de Chervé

/ /
Heritage

Bisse de Chervé

Magnificent altitude walk along the highest bisse of Nendaz with a very fine view of the Cleuson dam and of the Rhône valley
 
Water intake altitude 2,370 m, in the Printse above the Cleuson dam
Length 15 km
Date of construction 1862
 
The bisse flows at over 2,000 m altitude for the whole of its length. Its construction was intended to allow the irrigation of the mountain meadows of Thyon belonging to the peasants of Veysonnaz and of Les Agettes. Unfortunately, following problems of waterproofing and a too low water flow, it only remained in use for a few years.
 
To ensure the passage of the water on the slopes overhanging the Lac de Cleuson, it was necessary to construct dry-stone walls which are still visible. At this place, the constructors of the bisse engraved their names in the rock. Further away in the direction of Combatseline the canal had to cross a rock face. To overcome this obstacle, an artificial canal was constructed, entirely of wood, suspended from a rock wall. The water passed in the wooden boxes formed of planks called "chenaux" or channels. These channels were supported by pieces of wood, fixed into a recess dug in the rock, of which some are still visible. These engineering feats testify to the difficulties encountered by our ancestors who did not dispose of modern material.
 
In spite of the abandon of the bisse for many years, we still have the opportunity to follow its trace thanks to the well-maintained hiking path. The trail begins vertical to the Lac de Cleuson across very steep slopes where marmots frolic. One is above the treeline at this level. Soon the view opens up over the Rhône valley and one can admire the mountains of the right bank. Before arriving in the mountain meadows of Thyon, the path crosses a beautiful larch forest, chosen home of the nutcracker bird (nucifraga caryocatactes), typical of these clusters of trees.
Bisse de Chervé-42117
Bisse de Chervé-42117
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch

OPENING HOURS 
Mon-Fri | 09:00-12:00 14:00-18:00
Sat | 09:00-12:30 13:30-17:30
Sun| 09:00-14:00

Site officiel de l’office du tourisme de Nendaz
Bisse de Chervé-42117
Patrimoine

Bisse de Chervé

/ /
Patrimoine

Bisse de Chervé

Magnifique promenade d’altitude le long du plus haut des bisses de Nendaz  avec une très belle vue sur le barrage de Cleuson et sur la vallée du Rhône.
 
Prise d’eau altitude 2370 m, dans la Printse en amont du barrage de Cleuson
Longueur 15 km
Date de construction 1862

Le bisse chemine à plus de 2000m d’altitude sur la totalité de son parcours. Sa construction devait permettre l’irrigation des alpages de Thyon appartenant aux paysans de Veysonnaz et des Agettes. Malheureusement, suite à des problèmes d’étanchéité et un débit trop faible, son utilisation n’a duré que quelques années.

Pour assurer le passage de l’eau dans les pentes surplombant le lac de Cleuson, il a fallu construire des murs en pierres sèches qui sont encore visibles actuellement. A cet endroit, les constructeurs du bisse ont gravé leurs noms dans la roche.  Plus loin en direction de Combatzeline le canal doit traverser une barre rocheuse. Pour franchir cet obstacle, on a construit un canal artificiel totalement en bois,  suspendu à une paroi de rocher. L’eau passait dans des caissons de bois formés de madriers appelés « chenaux ».  Ces chenaux  étaient soutenus par des pièces de bois fixées dans une niche creusée dans le rocher dont certaines  sont encore visibles. Ces ouvrages d’art attestent des difficultés rencontrées par nos ancêtres qui ne disposaient pas du matériel actuel.
 
Malgré l’abandon du bisse depuis de nombreuses années, on a toujours la possibilité de suivre son tracé grâce au sentier de randonnée bien entretenu. Le début du parcours se déroule à la verticale du lac de Cleuson à travers des pentes très raides où s’ébattent des marmottes. On se trouve au-dessus de la limite supérieure de la forêt. Bientôt la vue s’ouvre sur la vallée du Rhône et l’on peut admirer les montagnes de la rive droite. Avant d’arriver dans les alpages de Thyon, le chemin traverse une belle forêt d’aroles où se plaît le casse-noix, oiseau typique de ces groupements d’arbres.
 
Bisse de Chervé-42117
Bisse de Chervé-42117
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Heures d'ouverture :
Lun-Ven | 9h-12h 14h-18h
Sam | 9h-12h30 13h30-17h30
Dim | 9h-14h