Official website of Nendaz Tourism
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Heritage

Bisse de Saxon

/ /
Heritage

Bisse de Saxon

The longest bisse of the Valais with its 32 kilometre long path
 
Water intake altitude 1,850 m, in the River Printse above Siviez
Length 32 km
Date of construction 1876
 
This bisse begins its route by crossing the mountain meadows of Tortin and of Siviez, then cuts across the spruce forest as far as the heights of Haute-Nendaz. It continues its way towards the mountain meadow of Pra da Dzeu and rejoins the several centuries-old larches of the Mayens du Dzora. While crossing the Forêt Verte, it winds its way as far as La Tzoumaz. After having leapt over the 'dévaloirs' overhanging Ecône, it finishes its course vertical to Saxon.
 
The inhabitants of this village of the Rhône valley must really have lacked water for their crops in order to undertake such an audacious project. The works began in 1865. Unfortunately, for technical reasons, the project had to be interrupted and was followed by a court case which lasted about ten years. Finally, the works continued in 1874 under the direction of Joseph Fama, owner of the casino and baths of Saxon.
 
Numerous structures had to be built all along the course ; dry-stone walls, tunnels for the passages in the rocks, passage of the water in wooden channels...
 
In 1876, the first water-filling took place and the bisse assumed its function until 1964. To ensure the surveillance of the canal, three guards were necessary over the length of its course. These men lived in cabins constructed along the bisse. In 1999, an association called "Garde du Bisse" was created with the aim of reviving this canal which holds an important position in the history of the Valais.
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
OPENING HOURS 
Mon - Sat| 09:00-12:00 13:30-18:00
Sun | 09:00-14:00

Site officiel de l’office du tourisme de Nendaz
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Patrimoine

Bisse de Saxon

/ /
Patrimoine

Bisse de Saxon

Le plus long bisse du Valais avec son sentier de 32 kilomètres
 
Prise d’eau altitude 1850 m, dans la rivière la Printse en amont de Siviez
Longueur 32 km
Date de construction 1876
 
Il débute son parcours en traversant les alpages de Tortin et de Siviez puis coupe à travers la forêt d’épicéas jusque sur les hauteurs de Haute-Nendaz. Il continue sa route vers l’alpage de Pra da Dzeu et rejoint les mélèzes plusieurs fois centenaires des mayens du Dzora. En traversant la Forêt Verte, il se faufile jusqu’à la Tzoumaz. Après avoir sauté par-dessus les dévaloirs surplombant Ecône, il finit sa course à la verticale de Saxon.
 
Les habitants de ce village de la plaine du Rhône devaient manquer singulièrement d’eau pour leurs cultures pour entreprendre  un projet si audacieux. Les travaux débutèrent en 1865. Malheureusement, pour des raisons techniques, la réalisation va être interrompue et suivie d’un procès qui dura une dizaine d’années. Finalement, les travaux reprirent  en 1874 sous la direction de Joseph Fama propriétaire du casino et des bains de Saxon.
 
De nombreux ouvrages d’art ont dû être construits tout au long du parcours ; murs en pierres sèches, tunnels pour les passages dans les rochers, passage de l’eau dans des chéneaux…
 
En 1876 a eu lieu la première mise en eau et le bisse assuma sa fonction jusqu’en 1964. Pour assurer la surveillance du canal trois gardes étaient nécessaires sur la longueur du parcours. Ces hommes vivaient dans des cabanes aménagées le long du bisse. En 1999, une association appelée « Garde du Bisse » a été créée dans le but de faire revivre ce canal qui tient une place importante dans l’histoire du Valais.
 
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Bisse de Saxon-42122
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Heures d'ouverture :
Lun-Sam | 9h-12h30 13h30-18h
Dim | 9h-14h