Official website of Nendaz Tourism
The Alphorn-42230
Heritage

The Alphorn

/ /
Heritage

The Alphorn

The birth

The alphorn's origins have been lost in the depths of time.  Some ancient documents mention that European and even Asian shepherds used a similar instrument, that is to say a sort of primitive wooden trumpet, which could play only a few notes.
 
1555

In Switzerland, we find proof of its existence in manuscripts written by the naturalist from Zurich, Conrad Gessner, who describes a sort of horn "litum alpinum" eleven feet long, made up of two long pieces of wood, curved, hollowed and bound together with wicker. This instrument was used in central Switzerland, to gather the cattle. In fact, originally, it was used to call the herds together, in the evening, in the mountains. It was also used as a method of communication to spread news from one valley to the next. In some ways, it would have been the ancestor to the megaphone. In the mountains, and with the wind as its ally, its notes can carry over 10km.
 
1805

The first alphorn competition took place at the shepherds' fete in Unspunnen: only two competitors took part. The first medal won at this occasion depicts the alphorn's shape at that time.
 
1826

Little by little, the playing of this instrument spread and in 1826 Niklaus von Mülinen, a Bernese patrician and president of the cantonal government, asked the composer Ferdinand Fürchtegott to make some alphorns and to organise the teaching of this instrument at Grindelwald.  According to the lithographs of the time, the alphorns were fairly straight and very narrow.
 
1880

It is only around 1880 that the alphorn was given its present shape. In the Zeihen museum (canton of Aargau) an example of this period is exhibited.
 
Over the years, the alphorn has had mixed amounts of popularity. At the turn of the century, it had even almost disappeared: when the federal association of yodellers was created (8th of May 1910), only one alphorn was present.
 
Today

In Switzerland, there are about 4'000 players, 200 in the Valais of which over 14 are from Nendaz.
 
 
The Alphorn-42230
The Alphorn-42230
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Opening hours :
Mon-Fri | 09:00-12:00 14:00-18:00
Sat | 09:00-12:30 13:30-17:30
Sun | closed

Site officiel de l’office du tourisme de Nendaz
Le cor des Alpes-42230
Patrimoine

Le cor des Alpes

/ /
Patrimoine

Le cor des Alpes

Naissance

L'origine du cor des Alpes se perd dans la nuit des temps. Certaines chroniques très anciennes mentionnent que des bergers d'Europe et même d'Asie utilisaient des instruments similaires, c'est-à-dire des sortes de trompettes primitives en bois, ne comportant que quelques notes.
 
1555

En Suisse, on trouve sa trace dans les écrits du naturaliste zurichois Conrad Gessner, qui décrit une sorte de cor "litum alpinum" long de onze pieds, constitué de deux longues pièces de bois, recourbées, évidées et assemblées l'une contre l'autre par de l'osier. Cet instrument était utilisé en Suisse Centrale, pour rassembler le bétail. En effet, à l'origine, il servait au rappel des troupeaux, le soir, dans la montagne. Il était également un moyen de communication pour annoncer les nouvelles d'une vallée à l'autre. En quelque sorte, ce serait l'ancêtre du mégaphone. En montagne, et avec le vent comme allié, ses sons peuvent porter jusqu'à 10 kilomètres.
 
1805

A la fête des bergers d'Unspunnen se déroula le premier concours de cor des Alpes: seulement deux concurrents s'y affrontèrent. La première médaille gagnée à cette occasion témoigne de la forme du cor de l'époque.

1826

Petit à petit, la pratique de cet instrument se répandit et en 1826 Niklaus von Mülinen, patricien et landammann bernois, chargea le compositeur Ferdinand Fürchtegott de confectionner des cors des Alpes et de mettre sur pied, à Grindelwald, l'enseignement de cet instrument. D'après les lithographies de l'époque, les cors sont plutôt droits et très minces.
 
1880

Ce n'est que vers 1880 que le cor des Alpes prit sa forme actuelle. Le musée de Zeihen (Argovie) expose d’ailleurs un exemplaire de cette époque.
 
Au cours des années, le cor des Alpes a connu un engouement variable. Au tournant du siècle, il avait même pratiquement disparu: lorsque la société fédérale de yodel fut fondée (8 mai 1910), un seul cor des Alpes était présent.
 
Aujourd'hui

En Suisse, on compte environ 4'000 instrumentistes, 150 en Valais dont 17 de Nendaz.
 

 
 
Le cor des Alpes-42230
Le cor des Alpes-42230
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Heures d'ouverture :
Lun-Ven | 9h-12h 14h-18h
Sam | 9h-12h30 13h30-17h30
Dim | fermé