Map downloading...

Show the mapHide the map

Haute-Nendaz Village

Towns & villages

Come and discover the many sights of the old village of Haute-Nendaz, at 1'252 metres above sea level.

The old village, located just below the main holiday resort, still contains a number of ancient barns and outbuildings. Nestled on the edge of what was once the main street is the Chapel of St Michel. It was built in 1499. It was rebuilt and restored several times, but almost disappeared in the 1960s. A neighbour proposed to buy it to turn it into a pigsty, but thanks to the Service des Monuments Historiques du Canton du Valais, it was saved. The building, as it appears today, dates back to the 18th century. The interior decoration is the work of the painter Charles Frédéric Brun, better known as the 'Déserteur'.

Haute-Nendaz also has its own church. In 1943, the population, tired of going all the way to Basse-Nendaz on Sunday and on every special occasion for mass, decided to build their own church. It took them no less than ten years to complete their project. All the inhabitants of the village participated in the construction during their free time and sometimes even on Sundays. The first services were held in a building without a roof or windows, in winter and summer. Numerous problems delayed the building work, such as army recruitment and the construction of the dams.

In Haute-Nendaz Village, the Maison de la culture (House of Culture), called "Le Nînd'Art" can be found, a 190m2 space dedicated to the culture and heritage of Nendaz. The Nînd'Art proposes throughout the year several exhibitions and activities. A whole collection of photos, videos and testimonies are also presented to the public in a multimedia room.

  • Free parking
  • Accessible by public transport
  • On-site catering
  • Exhibition / explanations
  • Playground

Weather forecast for Haute-Nendaz

Today
-
Tomorrow
-
Check the weather forecast

We use cookies to collect information about how you use nendaz.ch. We use this information to make the website work better and to enhance services.

Cookie settings

Chargement de la carte...

Afficher la carteMasquer la carte

Haute-Nendaz Village

Ville & village

Découvrez les nombreuses curiosités du vieux village de Haute-Nendaz, à 1'252 mètres d’altitude.

Le vieux village, situé juste en-dessous de la station touristique, abrite encore de nombreux raccards et granges d’époque. Nichée au bord de ce qui était autrefois la rue principale, se dresse la chapelle Saint-Michel. Elle fut bâtie en 1499. Plusieurs fois reconstruite et restaurée, elle faillit disparaître dans les années 1960. Un voisin proposa de la racheter pour en faire une porcherie mais, grâce au Service des monuments historiques du Canton du Valais, elle fut sauvée. L’édifice, tel qu’il apparaît aujourd’hui, daterait du 18ème siècle. La décoration intérieure est l’œuvre du peintre Charles Frédéric Brun, plus connu sous le nom du Déserteur.

Haute-Nendaz compte également une église. En 1943, sa population, lasse de se rendre tous les dimanches et jours de fête à Basse-Nendaz pour la messe, décida de construire sa propre église. Il ne leur faudra pas moins de dix années pour mener à bien leur projet. Tous les habitants du village participent à la construction pendant leur temps libre et parfois même le dimanche. Les premières messes sont dites dans un bâtiment sans toit ni fenêtres, hiver comme été. De nombreux problèmes retardent l’avancement des travaux comme la mobilisation ou les travaux de construction des barrages.

A Haute-Nendaz Village se trouve la Maison de la culture, baptisée «Le Nînd’Art», un espace de 190m2 dédié à la culture et au patrimoine de Nendaz. Le Nînd’Art propose tout au long de l'année plusieurs expositions et animations. Toute une collection de photos, de vidéos et de témoignages sont également présentés au public dans une salle multimédia.

  • Parking gratuit
  • Accessible en transports publics
  • Restauration sur place
  • Exposition / explications
  • Place de jeux
  • Informations touristiques

Météo pour Haute-Nendaz

Aujourd'hui
-
Demain
-
Consulter la météo complète

Nous utilisons des cookies pour collecter des informations sur la manière dont vous utilisez nendaz.ch. Nous utilisons ces informations pour faire fonctionner le site web au mieux et améliorer nos services.

Paramètres des cookies