Map downloading...

Show the mapHide the map

Bisse de Saxon

Natural site

This bisse is the longest one in the Valais. Numerous structures had to be built along the way in order to accommodate the various terrain and natural obstacles encountered along the way. Magnificent and impressive!

The Bisse de Saxon takes its source at 1,850 metres above sea level, in the Printse river upstream from Siviez. The bisse begins its journey of no less than 32 kilometres and ends its journey above Saxon. The inhabitants of this village located in the Rhone Valley had to be extremely short of water for their crops to undertake such a daring project.

Work began in 1865, but was interrupted initially for technical reasons and then because of a trial that lasted about ten years. Finally, work was resumed in 1874. Two years later, the Bisse de Saxon was filled with water and it was used for irrigation until 1964.

No less than three guards were needed to keep watch over this long irrigation channel. These men lived in cabins along the bisse. In 1999, an association called "Garde du Bisse" was created with the aim of restoring life to this bisse which holds an important place in the history of the Valais.

A BISSE, WHAT IS IT ?

The bisses were originally irrigation channels that diverted water from the rivers to water the farm land crops growing on the mountain slopes. They are true historical relics and bear witness to the Valaisans' relentless fight against drought. It is their construction that makes them so special. Indeed, these channels had to adapt to the different terrain and environments encountered along the way, giving rise to impressive workmanship, especially when we imagine what the means of construction were at the time. The bisses of our region take their source from the Printse, a river that flows along our valley. Of the eight bisses located in Nendaz, six still have water flowing within their banks and are still carrying out their original task of irrigation.

  • Picnic area available
  • Panorama / belvedere
  • Summer, Autumn

Weather forecast for Siviez

Today
-
Tomorrow
-
Check the weather forecast

Might also interest you

Bisse de Salins

Natural site

Bisse de Baar

Natural site

Bisse d'en Bas

Natural site

Bisse de Chervé

Natural site

Bisse Vieux

Natural site

Bisse du Milieu

Natural site

Bisse de Vex

Natural site

We use cookies to collect information about how you use nendaz.ch. We use this information to make the website work better and to enhance services.

Cookie settings

Chargement de la carte...

Afficher la carteMasquer la carte

Bisse de Saxon

Site naturel

Ce bisse est le plus long du Valais. De nombreux ouvrages ont dû être construits tout au long du parcours afin de se jouer des divers reliefs et obstacles naturels rencontrés en chemin. Magnifique et impressionnant !

La prise d'eau du bisse de Saxon se situe à 1'850 mètres d'altitude, dans la rivière la Printse en amont de Siviez. Ce bisse y débute son périple de pas moins de 32 kilomètres et finit sa course au-dessus de Saxon. Les habitants de ce village de la plaine du Rhône devaient manquer singulièrement d’eau pour leurs cultures pour entreprendre un projet si audacieux.

Les travaux débutent en 1865, mais ils sont interrompus dans un premier temps pour des raisons techniques puis à cause d'un procès qui durera une dizaine d'années. Finalement, les travaux reprennent en 1874. Deux ans plus tard, le bisse Saxon est mis en eau et ilassumera sa fonction d’irrigation jusqu’en 1964.

Pour assurer la surveillance de ce si long canal, la présence de pas moins de trois gardes était nécessaire. Ces hommes vivaient dans des cabanes aménagées le long du bisse. En 1999, une association appelée « Garde du Bisse » a été créée dans le but de faire revivre ce canal qui tient une place importante dans l’histoire du Valais.

UN BISSE, C’EST QUOI ?

Les bisses sont, à l’origine, des canaux d’irrigation qui permettent de dévier l’eau des rivières vers les cultures situées sur les coteaux. Véritables vestiges historiques, ils sont les témoins de la lutte sans relâche des Valaisans contre la sécheresse. C’est leur construction qui les rend si particuliers. En effet, les canaux doivent s’adapter aux différents reliefs et milieux rencontrés en chemin, ce qui donne naissance à d’impressionnants édifices, surtout lorsque l’on s’imagine quels étaient les moyens de construction de l’époque. Les bisses de notre commune prennent leur source dans la Printse, rivière qui s’écoule le long de notre vallée. Sur les huit bisses présents à Nendaz, six sont toujours en eau et accomplissent encore leur tâche initiale d’irrigation.

  • Aire de pic-nic disponible
  • Panorama / belvédère
  • Été, Automne

Météo pour Siviez

Aujourd'hui
-
Demain
-
Consulter la météo complète

Informations pratiques

Pourrait aussi vous intéresser

Bisse de Salins

Site naturel

Bisse de Baar

Site naturel

Bisse d'en Bas

Site naturel

Bisse de Chervé

Site naturel

Bisse Vieux

Site naturel

Bisse du Milieu

Site naturel

Bisse de Vex

Site naturel

Nous utilisons des cookies pour collecter des informations sur la manière dont vous utilisez nendaz.ch. Nous utilisons ces informations pour faire fonctionner le site web au mieux et améliorer nos services.

Paramètres des cookies