Map downloading...

Show the mapHide the map

Bisse du Milieu

Natural site

The Bisse du Milieu has two special features: it can be taken directly from the centre of the resort and is accessible in both summer and winter.

Taking its source at 1,460 metres above sea level and dating back to 1700, this 5-kilometre-long bisse is still in use today. It is used to irrigate raspberries and crops in the region of Haute-Nendaz and Basse-Nendaz. From Planchouet, the bisse descends towards the Bleusy, then flows towards the centre of the resort where it becomes a torrent, called the Tsâblo torrent, which in fact feeds the mill of the same name. It then plunges into the valley to join the Printse.

A BISSE, WHAT IS IT ?

The bisses were originally irrigation channels that diverted water from the rivers to water the farm land crops growing on the mountain slopes. They are true historical relics and bear witness to the Valaisans' relentless fight against drought. It is their construction that makes them so special. Indeed, these channels had to adapt to the different terrain and environments encountered along the way, giving rise to impressive workmanship, especially when we imagine what the means of construction were at the time. The bisses of our region take their source from the Printse, a river that flows along our valley. Of the eight bisses located in Nendaz, six still have water flowing within their banks and are still carrying out their original task of irrigation.

WHY ARE THEY WORTH THE DETOUR ?

The charming little Bleusy chapel is on the way. It is one of the mid-mountain chapels built in the 1930s on the site where the cattle is moved up to spring grazing. The parish priest used to come here to celebrate mass, which saved the peasants from having to travel all the way to the church in Basse-Nendaz. This charming little building is worth a visit, summer and winter alike! Indeed, the Bisse du Milieu is maintained in such a way as to be accessible even in winter as far as Le Bleusy.

ADVICE FROM THE LOCALS

If you are interested in discovering the bisses, kill two birds with one stone and walk two of our bisses by combining this hike with the Bisse Vieux! Indeed, between them, these bisses form a charming loop between Haute-Nendaz and Planchouet.

  • Summer, Autumn, Winter, Spring
  • Picnic area available
  • Panorama / belvedere

Weather forecast for Haute-Nendaz

Today
-
Tomorrow
-
Check the weather forecast

Might also interest you

Bisse d'en Bas

Natural site

Bisse de Salins

Natural site

Bisse de Baar

Natural site

Bisse de Chervé

Natural site

Bisse de Saxon

Natural site

Bisse Vieux

Natural site

Bisse de Vex

Natural site

We use cookies to collect information about how you use nendaz.ch. We use this information to make the website work better and to enhance services.

Cookie settings

Chargement de la carte...

Afficher la carteMasquer la carte

Bisse du Milieu

Site naturel

Le bisse du Milieu présente deux spécificités : il peut être emprunté directement depuis le centre de la station et il est accessible été comme hiver.

Avec une prise d’eau à 1'460 mètres d’altitude et datant de 1700, ce bisse long de 5 kilomètres est encore en activité de nos jours. Il sert à l’irrigation des framboises et des cultures de la région de Haute-Nendaz et Basse-Nendaz. Au départ de Planchouet, le bisse descend en direction du Bleusy, puis s’écoule vers le centre de la station où il se transforme en torrent, appelé le torrent du Tsâblo, qui alimente d'ailleurs le moulin du même nom. Il plonge ensuite dans la vallée pour rejoindre la Printse.

UN BISSE, C’EST QUOI ?

Les bisses sont, à l’origine, des canaux d’irrigation qui permettent de dévier l’eau des rivières vers les cultures situées sur les coteaux. Véritables vestiges historiques, ils sont les témoins de la lutte sans relâche des Valaisans contre la sécheresse. C’est leur construction qui les rend si particuliers. En effet, les canaux doivent s’adapter aux différents reliefs et milieux rencontrés en chemin, ce qui donne naissance à d’impressionnants édifices, surtout lorsque l’on s’imagine quels étaient les moyens de construction de l’époque. Les bisses de notre commune prennent leur source dans la Printse, rivière qui s’écoule le long de notre vallée. Sur les huit bisses présents à Nendaz, six sont toujours en eau et accomplissent encore leur tâche initiale d’irrigation.

POURQUOI CA VAUT LE DÉTOUR ?
La petite chapelle du Bleusy se trouve en chemin. Il s’agit d’une des chapelles des mayens construite dans les années 1930 sur les lieux de transhumance du bétail. Le curé venait y célébrer la messe, ce qui évitait aux paysans de devoir se déplacer jusqu’à l’église de Basse-Nendaz. Ce charmant petit édifice vaut le coup d’œil, été comme hiver ! En effet, le bisse du Milieu est entretenu de manière à être praticable même en hiver jusqu'au Bleusy.

LE CONSEIL LOCAL

Si la découverte des bisses vous intéresse, faites d’une pierre deux coups et parcourez deux de nos bisses en combinant cette randonnée avec le bisse Vieux ! En effet, à eux deux, ces bisses forment une charmante boucle entre Haute-Nendaz et Planchouet.

  • Été, Automne, Hiver, Printemps
  • Aire de pic-nic disponible
  • Panorama / belvédère

Météo pour Haute-Nendaz

Aujourd'hui
-
Demain
-
Consulter la météo complète

Pourrait aussi vous intéresser

Bisse d'en Bas

Site naturel

Bisse de Salins

Site naturel

Bisse de Baar

Site naturel

Bisse de Chervé

Site naturel

Bisse de Saxon

Site naturel

Bisse Vieux

Site naturel

Bisse de Vex

Site naturel

Nous utilisons des cookies pour collecter des informations sur la manière dont vous utilisez nendaz.ch. Nous utilisons ces informations pour faire fonctionner le site web au mieux et améliorer nos services.

Paramètres des cookies