The old village, located just below the main holiday resort, still contains a number of ancient barns and outbuildings. Nestled on the edge of what was once the main street is the Chapel of St Michel. It was built in 1499. It was rebuilt and restored several times, but almost disappeared in the 1960s. A neighbour proposed to buy it to turn it into a pigsty, but thanks to the Service des Monuments Historiques du Canton du Valais, it was saved. The building, as it appears today, dates back to the 18th century. The interior decoration is the work of the painter Charles Frédéric Brun, better known as the 'Déserteur'.
Haute-Nendaz also has its own church. In 1943, the population, tired of going all the way to Basse-Nendaz on Sunday and on every special occasion for mass, decided to build their own church. It took them no less than ten years to complete their project. All the inhabitants of the village participated in the construction during their free time and sometimes even on Sundays. The first services were held in a building without a roof or windows, in winter and summer. Numerous problems delayed the building work, such as army recruitment and the construction of the dams.
In Haute-Nendaz Village, the Maison de la culture (House of Culture), called "Le Nînd'Art" can be found, a 190m2 space dedicated to the culture and heritage of Nendaz. The Nînd'Art proposes throughout the year several exhibitions and activities. A whole collection of photos, videos and testimonies are also presented to the public in a multimedia room.
- Accessible by public transport
- On-site catering
- Exhibition / explanations