Map downloading...

Show the mapHide the map

Bisse du Milieu

Natural site

The Bisse du Milieu has two special features: it can be taken directly from the centre of the resort and is accessible in both summer and winter.

Taking its source at 1,460 metres above sea level and dating back to 1700, this 5-kilometre-long bisse is still in use today. It is used to irrigate raspberries and crops in the region of Haute-Nendaz and Basse-Nendaz. From Planchouet, the bisse descends towards the Bleusy, then flows towards the centre of the resort where it becomes a torrent, called the Tsâblo torrent, which in fact feeds the mill of the same name. It then plunges into the valley to join the Printse.

A BISSE, WHAT IS IT ?

The bisses were originally irrigation channels that diverted water from the rivers to water the farm land crops growing on the mountain slopes. They are true historical relics and bear witness to the Valaisans' relentless fight against drought. It is their construction that makes them so special. Indeed, these channels had to adapt to the different terrain and environments encountered along the way, giving rise to impressive workmanship, especially when we imagine what the means of construction were at the time. The bisses of our region take their source from the Printse, a river that flows along our valley. Of the eight bisses located in Nendaz, six still have water flowing within their banks and are still carrying out their original task of irrigation.

WHY ARE THEY WORTH THE DETOUR ?

The charming little Bleusy chapel is on the way. It is one of the mid-mountain chapels built in the 1930s on the site where the cattle is moved up to spring grazing. The parish priest used to come here to celebrate mass, which saved the peasants from having to travel all the way to the church in Basse-Nendaz. This charming little building is worth a visit, summer and winter alike! Indeed, the Bisse du Milieu is maintained in such a way as to be accessible even in winter as far as Le Bleusy.

ADVICE FROM THE LOCALS

If you are interested in discovering the bisses, kill two birds with one stone and walk two of our bisses by combining this hike with the Bisse Vieux! Indeed, between them, these bisses form a charming loop between Haute-Nendaz and Planchouet.

  • Summer, Autumn, Winter, Spring
  • Picnic area available
  • Panorama / belvedere

Weather forecast for Haute-Nendaz

Today
-
Tomorrow
-
Check the weather forecast

Might also interest you

Bisse d'en Bas

Natural site

Bisse de Salins

Natural site

Bisse de Baar

Natural site

Bisse de Chervé

Natural site

Bisse de Saxon

Natural site

Bisse Vieux

Natural site

Bisse de Vex

Natural site

We use cookies to collect information about how you use nendaz.ch. We use this information to make the website work better and to enhance services.

Cookie settings

Karte laden...

Karte anzeigenKarte verbergen

Bisse du Milieu

Naturschauplätze

Die Bisse du Milieu kann direkt vom Dorfzentrum aus erkundet werden und ist ganzjährig begehbar.

Die 5 Kilometer lange Suone aus dem Jahre 1700 fasst ihr Wasser auf 1'460m und wird noch heute zur Bewässerung der Himbeerplantagen und Kulturen der Region Haute-Nendaz und Basse-Nendaz genutzt. Von Planchouet aus führt die Suone in Richtung Bleusy und dann ins Zentrum der Station, wo sie sich in den Bergbach Torrent du Tsâblo verwandelt und dabei gleichzeitig die Mühle von Tsâblo antreibt. Weiter unten im Tal fliesst das Wasser zurück in die Printse.

WAS SIND SUONEN?

Suonen sind Bewässerungskanäle, die das Wasser der Gletscherbäche zu den Weiden und Anbauflächen leiteten und diese dann bewässerten. Die ältesten Suonen reichen bis ins Mittelalter zurück und zeugen vom unermüdlichen Kampf der Walliser Bauern gegen die Trockenheit. Was die Suonen so besonders macht, ist ihre Bauweise: Die Kanäle mussten an die verschiedenen Reliefs und Umgebungen angepasst werden, wobei eindrückliche Bauwerke entstanden sind – umso mehr, wenn man bedenkt, welche Mittel den Arbeitern früher zur Verfügung standen. Die Suonen der Gemeinde fassen ihr Wasser aus der Printse, dem Bergbach, der durch das ganze Tal fliesst. Von den acht Suonen rund um Nendaz führen sechs noch immer Wasser und werden weiterhin zur Bewässerung der Wiesen und Felder benötigt.

HIGHLIGHT DER TOUR

Auf dem Weg kommt man an der Kapelle von Bleusy vorbei. Diese wurde in den 1930er Jahren erbaut und diente den Maiensässen der Sommerweiden als Gebetsstätte. Der Pfarrer las die Sonntagsmesse in der Kapelle, womit die Bauern nicht mehr bis in die Kirche nach Basse-Nendaz hinabsteigen mussten. Ein Besuch der schmucken kleinen Kapelle lohnt sich auf jeden Fall! Ebenfalls gut zu wissen: Die Bisse du Milieu wird im Winter bis Bleusy als Winterwanderweg präpariert und kann so das ganze Jahr begangen werden.

UNSER LOCALS TIPP

Wer gerne auf Suonen unterwegs ist, kombiniert die Bisse du Milieu mit der Bisse Vieux zu einer Rundwanderung und entdeckt so die wunderschöne Gegend zwischen Haute-Nendaz und Planchouet.

  • Sommer, Herbst, Winter, Frühling
  • Picknickplatz vorhanden
  • Panorama / Belvedere

Wettervorhersage für Haute-Nendaz

Heute
-
Morgen
-
Zum Wetterbericht

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Bisse d'en Bas

Naturschauplätze

Bisse de Salins

Naturschauplätze

Bisse de Baar

Naturschauplätze

Bisse de Chervé

Naturschauplätze

Bisse de Saxon

Naturschauplätze

Bisse Vieux

Naturschauplätze

Bisse de Vex

Naturschauplätze

Zur Erfassung von Daten über den Zugriff auf unsere Website nendaz.ch verwenden wir Cookies. Die erfassten Daten verwenden wir zur Verbesserung unserer Website und Dienstleistungen.

Cookies-Einstellungen